A Solid Bit, an Easy Laugh

Paul Fidalgo
2 min readOct 15, 2022

--

“Running Gag”
An original song by me, Paul Fidalgo.

Lyrics:

Alright, you know, how on Saturday Night Live they tell a
Joke, a lot, until it isn’t funny anymore
Well that’s as good a way as any to tell
You about myself and how I manage to
Relate to those unfortunate enough to find
Themselves involved in intimate relations with a
Man who can’t assemble a coherent personality
I guess that what I’m sayin’ is I’m a

Punchline
A solid bit
An easy laugh
I can be your running gag

Hold on, I think that I just caught you crack a
Smile, a ray of hope that tells me that you might look
Past the crap and understand the little boy who
Had a lot of trouble making friends, okay
I’ll stop, you’re right, it’s probably too early to
Begin to dump the bullshit that I put up with when
I was twelve, but it’s kind of important if you
Want to know more about me than that I’m just a

Punchline
A solid bit
An easy laugh
I can be your running gag
I’ll slay the crowds
I’ll impress your mom
I can be your stand-up man

And I promise not to cry
In front of you

Refresh my brain, what is it we were just talking
About? Oh yeah, I was going on about how
I can use self-deprecating humor as a
Way to hide, but we can change the subject but
Before we do I just want to be clear that I am
Not a nut; a little on the spectrum but I
Swear it’s not something you need to be concerned
About. Just keep on telling yourself that I’m just a

Punchline
A solid bit
An easy laugh
I can be your running gag
I’ll slay the crowds
I’ll impress your mom
I can be your stand-up man

--

--

Paul Fidalgo

Odd duck. Indoor cat. Rogue planet. A motley fool; a miserable world.